• Post published:April 26, 2016

Dean Rogan triumphed in the opening round of the 2016 Horseware/TRM Premier Series with Falco Van Spieveld.

The penultimate rider in an eight-way decider, Dean Rogan took a decisive victory coming home with nearly four seconds in hand over nearest rival Captain Geoff Curran to clinch the win in Sunday’s €10,000 opener sponsored by Horseware Ireland.

Rogan commented, “I had a clear plan in mind for the jump-off.  My horse has a big stride so I didn’t have to go mad I just kept moving up home.”

Rogan’s plan proved well managed when he recorded a time of 50.31 seconds with all the poles untouched. Rogan had a few tense moments with the final combination, Jordan Coyle and Colour Blue, making a daring attempt on his time but the pair paid the price for their speedy round of 48.09 when the final two fences came down.

Dean Rogan and the 11-year-old Toulon gelding have been a consistent pairing in the winner’s enclosure over the last year. An exceptional run of form in 2015 saw the combination place in five legs of the Premier Series including a runner-up finish at the final in the Meadows while internationally Rogan has featured in Balmoral and Millstreet as well as making his first Senior Nations Cup start in Arezzo.

While all eyes were on John Floody and Liam O’Meara at last week’s final of the Spring Tour in Maryville, Rogan came in under the radar to steal the show and get his season off to a victorious start.

Rogan now heads to Poland for a three star show with Falco Van Spieveld but on his return will focus on the Premier Series.

Curran had set the initial standard of a double clear in a time of 54.14 with Ringwood Glen. The 12-year-old is the former ride of Michael Kelly but Curran has quickly come to grips with the VDL Arkansas gelding after an outing in Arezzo last month.

Francis Connors supplied the only other double clear on the day. Riding the nine-year-old Ard VDL Douglas-sired Erne Lady Goldilocks, Connors stopped the clock at 56.46 to guarantee third place in the line-up.

Edward Butler proved the fastest of the four faulters with Cornet Son. Carrying his faults from the first round, Butler was error free on his second outing and recorded a good time of 52.66.

Elizabeth Power, a runner-up in the previous day’s National Grand Prix, had to settle for fifth place on this occasion with a single error aboard Doonaveeragh O One in a time of 52.72. Young rider Aoife Dooley, another to feature in Saturday’s Grand Prix, faulted on the way home with Calgot Hero and slotted into sixth place when the clock showed 56.07.


TRM/Horseware Premier Series Grand Prix Louth County Show 24th April 2016 Result

Sponsored by Horseware

  1. Falco Van Spieveld Deane Rogan 0/0/ 50.31
  2. Ringwood Glen Captain Geoff Curran 0/0/ 54.14
  3. Erne Ladygoldilocks Francis Connors 0/0/ 56.46
  4. Cornet Son Edward Butler 4/0/ 52.66
  5. Doonaveeragh O One  Elizabeth Power 0/4 52.72
  6. Calgot Hero Aoife Dooley 0/4/ 56.07