• Post published:May 30, 2016

Damien Griffin triumphed on home soil when coming out in front in the fifth leg of the Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix League at Ballinasloe Showgrounds.

Riding Pamela Donaghy’s Tabby, Griffin had a comfortable margin over his nearest rivals when stopping the clock at 39.63 seconds to clinch the win in Saturday’s €5,000 feature class, kindly sponsored by Lisbeg Farms.

Based in Ballinsloe out of his own Lissyegan Stables, Griffin has a long standing partnership with the 10-year-old Tabby. By Captain Clover out of the Cruising-sired dam Majestic Cruise, Tabby has proven a successful performer up to Premier Series Grand Prix level.

While Saturday’s result was the first time for the pair to put points on the board this season, the combination featured regularly in 2015 in the Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix League as well as taking a top four finish in the Premier Series Grand Prix at Tattersalls.

Reigning National Grand Prix Champion Darryl Walker was the only rider to come within striking distance of Griffin’s time aboard the 12-year-old Hermes de Reve-sired Riverside Ace. Taking all the risks, Walker proved just off the pace when recording a time of 40.92.

Joan Greene secured the yellow rosette with Liam Brennan’s Coolgrange Cruising logging a time of 43.77 with nothing to add. Trailing a second behind her in 44.77 was Edward Jnr Doyle aboard new mount Derryinver Luxury Cruise which would prove good enough for fourth place in the line-up.

Jessica Burke and Shane Goggins completed the line-up when both delivering a second faultless performance. Burke was paired with the Captain Clover-sired CC Captain Cruise and was the quicker of the two when making it home in 44.85. Goggins aimed for a steady clear with Thomas Mannion’s eight-year-old gelding Defi Bigtime which he duly delivered in a time of 54.60.

Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix League Ballinsloe Show 28th May 2016 Result
Sponsored by Lisbeg Farms.

1. Tabby                                       Damien Griffin           0/0 39.63.
2. Riverside Ace                          Darryl Walker             0/0 40.92.
3. Coolgrange Cruising              Joan Greene              0/0 43.77.
4. Derryinver Luxury Cruise    Edward Jnr Doyle      0/0 44.77.
5. CC Captain Cruise                 Jessica Burke             0/0 44.85.
6. Defi Bigtime                            Shane Goggins          0/0 54.60.