• Post published:April 27, 2017

Rio Olympian Greg Broderick kicked off his national season when he claimed the win in the inaugural TRM/Horseware sponsored New Heights Champion Series at the Horseware Louth County Show on Sunday 23rd April. Riding Charmeur, the Tipperary rider lodged the winning time of clear in 44.99 seconds.

Owned by Pearl Bledron, Charmeur (KWPN)  is a 10-year-old gelding by Calvaro Z out of the Heartbreaker sired mare Wirkeness. The gelding to new to the Ballypartick Stables having previously been campaigned by English riders Jodie Hall Mcateer and Kayleigh Watts. Broderick took over the ride this February and competed in Vejer de la Frontera CSI3* and later in Cagnes-sur-Mer CSI3*.

International course designer Tom Holden set the challenge for the 28 starters, with nine of those proceeding to the raised jump-off track. Of those nine, only four delivered double clears to share the spoils in the €10,000 Prize Fund.

Following a successful in Vejer de la Frontera, Sophie Dalm made an impression when she partnered Remake Lande to a clear in 47.78 seconds, which proved good enough for the runner-up position. First to go against the clock, Max O’ Reilly Hyland and Ahmed Du Calvaire set the bar high when they lodged a clear in 48.31 seconds for eventual third. Going late in the jump-off, Damian Griffin used this to his advantage as he partnered Tabby to a clear in 49.95 seconds for eventual fourth place. A new partnership, Nicholas Butler and Vimminka were ruled out of contention early when they faulted at the first, but a fast time of 44.09 saw them finish fastest of the four faulters and into fifth place. It was a good weekend for the Butler family, as Alexander Butler accounted for sixth place with Hallowberry Cruz when he faulted at the last oxer in 45.43 seconds.

The next round of the series takes place in Ballinasloe Show on the 28th May.


1. Greg Broderick,  Charmeur 44.99

2. Sophie Dalm, Remake Lande 47.78

3. Max O’Reilly Hyland, Ahmed Du Calvarie 48.31

4.Damien Griffin, Tabby, 49.95

5.Nicholas Butler, Vimminka, 44.09 (4)

6. Alexander Butler, Hallowberry Cruz 45.43 (4)

7. Neal Fernon, Cohiba VDL 46.32 (4)

8. Darryl Walker, Cushions, 46.55 (4)

9. Kenneth Graham, George (IHB), 47.56 (4)

10. Elizabeth Power, Doonaveeragh O One, 79.12 (4)Gr