• Post published:July 17, 2014

The 28th Annual National Balmoral Championships will be a show to remember for Captain Michael Kelly after he collected the two top prizes on offer at the show.  Following his success at the Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix with Dumiller Lough on Tuesday , Michael stormed home on his other horse Annestown to claim the Horseware/ TRM Premier Grand Prix with a Prize fund of €10,000.

The class was the culmination of 3 days of top class show jumping at Balmoral Park, 38 starters took on Steve Williams track 10 combinations went through to the second round and just three riders completed with double clears.

Originally from Co. Longford Capt Michael Kelly, who joined the Army in 2001, steered the 11 year old Annestown to victory with a stylish double clear.  Annestown is a gelding by Royal Concorde, out of a mare by Cavalier Royale and was bred by Margaret Moore.

Still on form after their Premier win last weekend at Cork Summer Show Greg Broderick and MHS Going Global were just under a second behind the time to take the runner up spot

With a week off this weekend, combinations will getting prepared for the sixth round of the Horseware/ TRM Premier Series at Tattersalls on Sunday week after which the top three riders will gain entry to the International classes in the RDS.

Greg Broderick now holds the top spot on the rider leaderboard with 29 points after finishing with a top ten place in every leg so far, he has secured his place in Dublin but the battle continues for the other two coveted places.  Joan Greene is lying in close second with 25 points and Gerard Clark lies in third on 18 points with several riders hot on their heels.

FULL RESULT – Horseware/TRM Premier Grand Prix League 2014, National Balmoral Championships

1st Capt. Michael Kelly/ Annestown, 0/0 42.65

2nd Greg Broderick/ MHS Going Global 0/0 43.57

3rd Joan Greene/ Diamonds for Douglas 0/0 55.75

4th Edward Doyle Jnr/ Mullaghdrin Touch the Stars 1/0 55.61

5th Clem McMahon/ Unesca 0/4 46.71

6th Dermott Lennon/ Loughview Lou Lou 0/8 43.68

7th Clem McMahon/ Any Questions 0/8 47.38

8th Alexander Butler/ Vimminka 0/8 47.44

9th Peter Smyth/ Victoria Rose 4/4 49.01

10th Thomas O’Brien/ Amaretto 0/12 51.45


38 starters

10 through to 2nd round

Winning Owner – Minster for Defence