• Post published:April 24, 2014

Showjumping Ireland is delighted to announce the launch of the 2014 Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix League and Premier Series which took place this afternoon at a reception to mark the 60th Anniversary of Showjumping Ireland in Kilashee House Hotel, Naas, Co. Kildare.

This new three year partnership with Horseware and TRM builds on the existing relationship with two of the market leaders in the equine industry and is a very lucrative and important sponsorship deal for the sport in a year which marks the 60th Anniversary of Showjumping Ireland, the largest of all the sport horse equestrian disciplines in Ireland.

The Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix Leagues and Premier Series get underway this weekend with the annual curtain raiser to the Outdoor season at the Horseware Louth County Show.  The Dundalk venue hosts both a National Grand Prix and Premier Series kicking off both leagues in the best possible style.

In a thrilling finale at Coilog last year Paddy O’Donnell was crowned the TRM/Horseware Premier Series Champion and in doing so was also crowned the National Show Jumping Champion for 2013.  Waterford rider O’Donnell, with the Thomas Power owned Harristown Princess, came out on top and claimed the title by just 0.5points.

The National Grand Prix League title was retained by Tipperary rider, Greg Broderick, following an impressive first title victory in 2012.

Both riders are expected to be back again this year to defend their titles along with a host of other top National and International Riders.

Managing Director of TRM, Raoul Masterson said; “The association with Horseware and Showjumping Ireland, which is in place until 2017, mirrors TRM’s ethos of supporting Irish talent.  Each year both leagues get stronger and last year the riders provided us with some thrilling displays of horsemanship, a trend we hope will continue.  The National Grand Prix Series and Premier Series provide a vital bridge between domestic competition and international success, and we believe that these competitions assist Ireland’s continuing Show Jumping success.”

Tom MacGuinness, Managing Director of Horseware Ireland also echoed these sentiments saying “We are delighted to come on board for the second year with TRM as title sponsors for the National GP and Premier series.  It is very rare in our industry that two companies come together and form a partnership and I feel that by working together with TRM we can really bring the league up a notch. The premier series is a crucial part of the Showjumping calendar as it provides riders with the opportunity to gain experience of jumping at the higher level which makes us more competitive when we travel abroad, it is especially beneficial for our young riders and future Olympians as it gives them a great aim and ambition to compete in the Premier series alongside some of Irish Show jumping’s elite”.

Tony Hurley, Chairman of Showjumping Ireland welcomed both companies on board for the 2014 Premier Series and National Grand Prix Season; ‘‘Sponsorship of these Leagues is essential to maintain the standard of showjumping and we are delighted that Horseware and TRM have signed up to a 3 Year sponsorship programme amounting to €150k.  TRM were the sponsors in 2010 and Horseware joined the sponsorship last year making it an exceptional package for all concerned”

He continued “Showjumping Ireland was instigated in 1954 and we have the opportunity to promote the show jumping horse nationally through the many affiliated shows run throughout the country.  Our athletes showcase their horses through the Premier Series and National Grand Prix League which provides jumping at the highest level offering significant prize funds in reward.”

The Horseware/TRM Premier Series takes place at: Horseware Louth County (27th April); Mullingar International (2nd June); Omagh Show (5th July); Cork Summer Show (13th July); National Balmoral (16th July); Tattersalls (27th July); South County (3rd August); Coilog (24th August).

The Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix League takes place at: Horseware Louth County (26 th April); Coilog Equestrian (3rd May); Thomastown Show (4th May); Barnadown (11th May); Cavan Equestrian Centre (18th May); Ravensdale Lodge (25th May); Ballinamona (7th June); Ballivor (8th June); Galway County Show (15th June); Cavan Equestrian Centre (22nd June); Charleville Show (28th June); Omagh Show (4th July); Bannow and Rathangan (10th July); Cork Summer Show (12th July); Nationsal Balmoral (14th July); The Meadows (20th July); Tattersalls (26th July); South County (2nd August); Coilog (23rd August); Barnadown (6th September)

60 years of Showjumping Achievements

1954    The amalgamation of the Northern Ireland Showjumping Association with the Horse Jumping and Riding Encouragement Association in Southern Ireland.

1960    First Civilian Team represent Ireland – Leslie Fitzpatrick, Capt John Brooke and Seamus Hayes

1969    Iris Kellet wins at European championships

1928    onwards saw Ireland win many Aga Khan Trophies with the ‘Dream Team’ of Paul Darragh, James Kernan, Capt. Con Power and Eddie Macken winning the Trophy outright in 1997, 78 and 79.

1986    The National Championships were first held in Salthill

1995/6 Emma Wilson wins European Gold Medal with Colton Maelstrom

1995    Ireland wins Nations Cup Aachen

2001    Team Gold at European Championship – Peter Charles, Kevin Babbington, Jessica Kurten & Dermot Lennon

2002    Dermot Lennon wins Gold at the World Individual Championships

2010    Ireland wins the FEI Nations Cup

Bertram Allen takes Gold at European Pony Championships

Clem McMahon wins the W.B.F.6 Year Old Championship in Lanaken with Coole Al Clover

2011    Children On Horses Team wins at the European Championships

2012    Cian O Connor takes home Olympic Bronze Medal

Junior Showjumping Team wins Gold – Bertram Allen, Sven Hadley, Shannon Mc Kenzie & Max O’Reilly Hyland

2013    Susan Fitzpatrick wins Gold Medal at Pony European Championship

The Pony Team wins Bronze at the European Championships – Susan Fitzpatrick, Tim Mac Donagh, Matt Garrigan, Killian Norris

Greg Broderick & Bertram Allen win Gold at the World Breeding Championships