• Post published:May 6, 2014

Broderick and Byrne start battling it out for pole position in the Horseware/TRM National Grand Prix League 2014 Results


It has been an exciting weekend of Showjumping both at home and abroad this Bank Holiday weekend with two legs of the Horseware/ TRM Grand Prix League the focus of our National competitions.


45 riders took on course builder Tom Holden’s track at the second leg of the Horseware/TRM Grand Prix League 2014 Results at the Katherine A. Gallagher Grand Prix Show held in Coilóg Equestrian Centre,  Kildare.


Ten competitors had clear rounds to put them through to the jump off and Kilkenny’s’ Vincent Byrne took the top spot with James Weldon’s 10 year old Gelding by ARD VDL Douglas


The M. Michael Meller Style Award Perpetual Trophy in memory of Mary Duff was presented to Lisburn lady Patricia Stewart.  The selection criteria for the winning rider were based on performance and attitude both inside and outside of the competition ring over the course of the show, exemplifying true sportsmanship at all times.


Michael Meller  presented the award and enjoyed all the jumping throughout the day.  “E2 Showjumpers is delighted to be sponsoring the show here today in Coilog.  Ireland is a great place to produce young horses, there are so many good venues and classes to give the horses the experience they need.  We are really grateful to have such fantastic support from our owners, the Gallagher family, in building our team of horses”


Grand Prix winner Vincent Byrne said the track at Coilog was tough and competitive but that his horse enjoyed himself and was in good form, this was to be further proved today in Thomastown.


Today saw the third leg of the Horseware/TRM Grand Prix League 2014 at Thomastown Show in Co. Kilkenny, Greg Broderick was back on form with Noel Cawley’s mare Rincarina.  A faultless round in 34.38 over Pat Hutchinson’s course was just enough to edge out Vincent Byrne and Mr Rockerfeller by just half a second.


Alexander Butler also kept up his challenge for the title claiming third place on Will Wimble and local man Ger O’Neill took three of the top ten placings with his string.


The 2014 League now moves to Barnadown for the fourth leg on May 11th.




Second leg of the Horseware/TRM Grand Prix League 2014 at the Katherine A. Gallagher Grand Prix Show, Coilóg Equestrian Centre Kildare.


1st Vincent Byrne/ Mr Rockefeller 0/0 39.88

2nd Alexander Butler/ Vimminka 0/0 40.15

3rd Alexander Butler/Monastery Stud More Pleasure 0/0 42.54

4th Matt Garrigan/ Quentucky Jolly 0/0 44.74

5th Kellie Allen/ Oreal Des Etains Z 0/0 47.77

6th Olive Clarke/ Kofi Annan 0/0 47.83

7th Vincent Byrne/ Hannibal V Overis Z 0/4 43.21

8th Darryl Walker/ Cushions 0/4 44.52

9th Edward Butler/ Crosstown Skylight 0/8 42.27

10th Gerard Campbell/ Catch Me If You Can 0/12 57.89

45 Starters

10 Into Jump-off

Winning Owner – James Weldon



Third leg of the Horseware/TRM Grand Prix League 2014 at Thomastown Show, Co. Kilkenny.


1st Greg Broderick/ Rincarina 0/0 34.38

2nd Vincent Byrne/ Mr Rockefeller 0/0 34.93

3rd Alexander Butler/ Will Wimble 0/0 35.27

4th Ger O’Neill/ Isacorada 0/0 35.38

5th Ger O’Neill/ Dree Boeken’s Groosos Roeschen 0/0 37.57

6th Daniel Coyle/ Esprit Van De Hoenderheide 0/0 39.14

7th Martin Hynes/ Galway Brigade 0/0 42.82

8th Peter Smyth/ Corrib House 0/4 34.49

9th Tholm Keane/ Warrenstown You 2 0/4 36.19

10th Ger O’Neill/ Mullinroe 0/4 37.95


37 Starters

17 Into Jump-off

Winning Owner – Noel Cawley